:: User Login ::    :: Create User Account ::

Friday February 22 2019 

Featured Sponsors mySportSite

147381 visitors
since February 25, 2009

RSS Feed

True Team Background and History

The True Team concept was adopted by the Minnesota High School Coaches Association in 1987 to address the need in Track and Field for a True TEAM competition (the top overall team). To do this, a True Team meet will score every participant in the meet rather then just the top nine finishers. By scoring the meet this way, more emphasis is put on the second and third person in each event. In previous years, a team with a few elite athletes could win the “Team Championship” in a large meet. The Coaches felt the Team Championship should be won by the best TEAM. The True Team State Meet is meant to put emphasis on the team concept of track and field, giving each athlete significance.


Throughout the State, there are 8 Sections in each Class, with the Champion in each Section Advancing to the State Meet.  The best second place team in the state in each class also advances as a “Wild Card.”


Individual events are scored on multiples of three, so with nine teams competing first place is worth 27 points, and the twenty seventh finisher earning one point. Relays are scored on multiples of four, with the winning team earning 36 points and the last place team four points. The meet is run on the standard Minnesota schedule, with four relays, eight track events and six field events.


Prior to 1995 each team only had two athletes per event in the highest class. From 1987-91, there were four classes. The three class system in place today began in 1992.


The meet is put on by the Minnesota State High School Coaches Association, and although it is a better representation of overall team performance, the official state champion is crowned at the Minnesota State High School League State Meet. The MSHSL State Meet scores only the top nine individual athletes and relays in the state.


Why was the Minnesota True Team Championship philosophy developed?


1.       Because of many Minnesota track and field coaches who were dissatisfied with the existing system which did not determine a true team champion.

2.       To recognize overall team strength.

3.       To discount the possibility of a championship where only 2, 3, or 4 individuals score all the points.

4.       To encourage more participation through 3 divisions throughout the state which were determined through school enrollment.

5.       To provide fans with a more exciting format and scoring system in which to determine a Team State Champion.

6.       To encourage teams to develop all events and therefore greater participation.



Cretin Derham Hall, Irondale, Minneapolis South, Minneapolis Southwest, Mounds View, Roseville, Spring Lake Park/ St Anthony, St Paul Central, St Paul Como Park, St Paul Highland Park

Mounds View True Team Section 6 AAA Champions

1990,  1991,  1992,  1993,  1994,  1995, 1996,  1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017


1990 – 5th      
1991 – 3rd        
1992 – 4th        
1993 – 3rd        
– Champions       
1996 – 6th      
1997 – 3rd        
1998 – 5th
1999 – did not participate
2000 – 7th
2001 – 7th
2002 – 7th        
2003 – 6th          
2004– did not participate
2005 – 3rd       
06 – 7th

2007 – Champions    
2008 – 2nd       
2009 – Champions
2010 – Champions
2011 - 2nd

2012 - 3rd
2013 - 4th

2014 - 3rd

2015 - Champions

2016 - 2nd

2017 - 4th